Cinnamon Sugar Baked Apples from Gizdich Ranch

By Rachel Del-Toro Gipson, Nutrition major & Food Science minor in my last year at Cal Poly SLO

Hey there! I’m Rachel. In addition to having a passion for being outside, traveling, and of course, cooking (!), I participate in nutrition and food engineering research, as well as work in the food science department at my school.  I create vegan recipes and cooking videos inspired by all areas of my life. I love developing my recipes and inspiring people to experience the benefits of a vegan lifestyle. I do some freelance vegan marketing on the side, and I am always open to new projects and ideas. For more about my dream foodie goals–and potential cookbook–check out my vegan lifestyle blog, Viva La Veganista!

rach

PC: Viva La Veganista

After a solid 3 months of beaches, bright sunshine and the lively aura of the California coast during the summer season, fall’s whispering entrance is subtly noticed by earlier sunsets and the changing of the leaves. Every year at this time I am reminded of the special place in my heart that is reserved for the fall season. As a child, this time of year always brought me to Gizdich Ranch. Gizdich Ranch is a family owned ranch in Watsonville, California. I grew up going here to pick berries and apples at the start of many fall seasons. My grade school would always take field trips here and then create an apple-themed ‘Thank you’ poster for the ranch, just like the posters above. One of my favorite memories was eating a picnic lunch at the little picnic tables that included Honey Crisp or Granny Smith apples, and then playing in the hay bales with my friends.

gizdich-ranch

PC: Viva La Veganista

The hay bales are still there, but they definitely seem smaller than I remember! When I was younger, my mom would buy us the Gizdich apple juice as a treat, and its sweet and crisp apple flavor is one that I could never forget. The fall season calls for a special apple treat, and that’s what I made for you today!
Cinnamon Sugar Baked Apples

Ingredients:
4 apples (I used Honey Crisp for this recipe)
2 tablespoons vegan butter
1 teaspoon cinnamon
1 teaspoon nutmeg
Sprinkle of ginger (about 1/4 teaspoon)
1/2 cup oats
1/4 cup brown sugar

1. Preheat oven to 350 F. Cut up apples into wedges or small slices, depending on how large or small you want the apples to be. Spread the apples evenly in a baking dish.
2. Combine butter, cinnamon, nutmeg, ginger, oats and brown sugar in a bowl. Mix until the butter is thoroughly crumbled into the mixture and all of the ingredients are evenly dispersed.
3. Add the crumbly mixture to the apples, and then mix together in the baking dish. Put in the oven and cook for about 30-35 minutes, until apples soften.

Enjoy!


Leave a comment