Meet the Team: Philip Saneski

phil profileHello RCA, student members, chefs, Culinologists and food scientists! My name is Philip Saneski and I am truly honored to be given the opportunity to serve you—in conjunction with other talented RCA students—as President of the newly-formed RCA Student Committee. I have been working in kitchens of all different types since I was sixteen years old, and feel lucky to have been mentored by some of San Francisco’s the most celebrated fine-dining chefs. After years of working the savory hot line, I found my niche when I became Pastry Chef at AQ Restaurant, where we were a James Beard Award finalist for best new restaurant in the country. If you were to come over and try my food, you would be taken on a historical culinary journey that begins with foundations in classic French technique and ends with very modern-inspired California pastry techniques. Ask anyone who met me at any RCA-related events (including Chefs Thomas Keller & John Besh, among others), I’m absolutely fascinated with vegetable-based pastry!

Currently, I balance life between being a student at Allan Hancock College and working as Pastry Chef for an old-world, European style bakery where my prep list consists of anything from shaping baguettes to making the perfect canelé de Bordeaux. I nevertheless make time to contribute to the RCA however possible. In particular, it is my privilege to share connections and explore ideas regarding RCA student member opportunities. Are you an RCA member? Student? Chef? Culinologist? Food scientist? Or a foodie who likes to have fun in your kitchen? If so, please don’t be shy to contact me on the RCAConnect Student Community about student activities. Talk to you soon!


Leave a Reply

